top of page
  • Jessica Dsouza

You’re Not a Social Smoker

“You’re not a social smoker”, I feel it’s time I say

To all my ‘social smoker’ friends about this game in play. 

If you have a standard cig that you order everyday

You can’t cite social smoking to keep us all at bay. 


You’re not a social smoker, I promise that you’re not

You always have a lighter and your lungs are already shot.

I know you’re at the Tapri everyday - six on the dot,

But it isn’t social smoking if you’re scared of being caught.


You’re not a social smoker, you’ve fallen far too deep

You buy them by the pack  and I doubt that's cause it’s cheap.

You can’t just call it social cause there’s people always around

It's a liberal arts college – the people’s ‘lost and found’.


You’re not a social smoker, my friend, that ship has sailed

Back when we said Aroma, before ‘Thalassa’ was unveiled.

The only people buying this ‘social smoking’ ruse

Are innocent first years, on their way to substance abuse.


You’re not a social smoker, I don’t know what to say

It’s hard to believe — you use a Kulhad for an ashtray.

You’re not a social smoker, consider this your chance

To avoid an intervention and fix it in advance.


I thought this would be easier than cornering you one day

If you finally concede, we can both be on our way.

So, you’re not a social smoker, but you can still escape

There’s nowhere to go but up, as long as you don’t vape!

176 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page