top of page
  • Writer's pictureSuyog Joshi

The Dark Side of Party Culture at Ashoka







As an Ashokan, there are certain luxuries that I’m used to. Rolling out of bed at 1 PM, posting on the confessions page for every inconvenience I encounter, three meals provided for me each day, fast internet, vending machines stocked with lots of junk food, parents who fund my every impulse, not having to request some semblance of sanity from large hordes of teenage girls at least three nights every week, not needing to involve myself when smitten boyfriends announce love songs to their girlfriends at 2:30 AM… you know, luxuries.


Every trip outside my room after 12:30 AM on a Thursday night is a glaring reminder of how lucky I am to be afforded these excesses. Sometimes, an ill-timed trip into my room before 12:30 AM is also a reminder, but that’s beside the point. I have not ever wished a Srijita Ghosh course upon someone more than I have when my drunk roommate breathed on me while explaining why my white bed sheets had a big black stain on it. No one parties after learning about Slutsky equations.


It isn’t easy being a security guard at Ashoka. I know because I spoke to them and they said so. Literally all the didis and bhaiyas had a few complaints, and they were all the same- people are too loud and it disturbs people, they get impatient and rude when signing out, and they become difficult to control making them easy targets for wardens when they do their rounds. The guards have to face at least half an hour of this at least three times a week. Yes, alcohol is a depressant. And not just for the people consuming it.


The guards also had some requests from the students. They asked for us to “be patient” when signing out. “Wait” for our chance. “Be considerate” towards other students, especially when outside of the RH. “Don’t be so loud”. Try not to be annoyed at them because they’re under a lot of stress. According to “sources”, these requests were deemed “unimaginable” and “impossible” by many Ashokans.


Sounds about right.


253 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page